About Tasks

The optional Tasks feature allows you to set up discrete actions and/or a consistent workflow required for resolution of an issue. Tasks may be added individually or with a Task Group during the submission of an issue or at any time in the issue life cycle. Tasks and Task Groups may also be added automatically by the use of a Quick Pick or Recurring Issue, or Task Groups may be added automatically as part of a defined workflow.

Permissions

Tasks can only be assigned by users or groups with  Can assign Tasks   permissions and only assigned to users or groups with  Can be assigned Tasks   permissions. Regardless of the Task Assigned To value in an issue, all tasks must be completed, cancelled or removed before an issue can be closed.

Only users with  Can view Tasks on issues   permissions will be able to view Tasks within an issue or email notification. In addition, only these users will receive email notifications related to Task events. This allows you to apply a workflow to an issue without bothering the user with the details of the workflow. Only users with  Can edit Tasks   are able to modify the name, dependency or process options of a task on an issue.

Additionally, users need to have "Can select substatus when submitting and maintaining issues" permission in order to change the Update Substatus To dropdowns within issue-related tasks.  Without this permission, the Update Status To dropdown will be grayed out. 

Restrictions

Tasks and Task Groups may also be ‘Restricted’ to particular groups and/or organizations. Only members of these select groups and/or organizations will be able to view restricted tasks and/or task groups.

Workflow

When a user is assigned a Task, they'll receive an email notification. According to the Task Type assigned, the Task can be marked “complete” by clicking task complete,  or can be approved or disapproved by clicking yes or no.  You may also configure the system so that a popup window is generated during completion of a Task. In this scenario, the user completing the Task will be prompted to enter Labor Hours and Labor Notes related to the completion of the Task. Regardless, the system will always record who completed the Task as well as the date and time it was completed.

In a  yes/no  scenario among Task Groups, several options are available to support process management workflows related to each response. All subsequent tasks may be cancelled depending on the selection of yes, no, or NA, depending on the workflow you defined within the Task Group. You may also choose to add another Task Group, modify the issue substatus, and/or close the issue when a task response is received. All process management options are available for each completion option (yes, no, NA).

Dependencies may also be established among Tasks, e.g. Task 3 cannot be completed until Tasks 1 and 2 have been completed. If dependencies have been engaged, the links to complete subsequent Tasks will not appear until the preceding Task has been completed and the dependent task is available for completion. If you have email notifications set to only send when the Task is available, the email will not go out until that task is ready to be completed.



Activating Tasks

When activating tasks, you have several additional options available. Only users with the Sys Admin parameter can activate Tasks and their additional options.

  1. Go to Administration > System > System Settings > Optional Fields.
  2. Click the checkbox next to Tasks and any relevant task options:
    1. Activate Secure Task Completion: If checked, clicking the link to complete a task will require the current user to enter their password. If the proper password is supplied, the task is completed. If the proper password is not supplied after a set number of attempts, the user is logged out of the system. This option will not be available if Issue Lockdown is activated since Issue Lockdown includes this feature. This is not normally a recommended setting.
    2. Task Completed By Assignee Only: If checked, tasks can only be completed by the user they are assigned to, a member of the group they are assigned to or the Sys Admin.
    3. Activate Popup Time Entry: If checked, completion of any Task will generate a popup window for the entering of Labor Hours and associated Labor Notes.
  3. Click Update. 

The message Parameters successfully updated  will display upon completion and Tasks will appear as an option in the Administration Menu.


Adding Tasks

  1. Go to Administration > Tasks > List All > Add.
  2. Select a Task Type (Select Complete as the Task Type if this Task only requires the user to mark it Complete. Select Yes/No/NA as the Task Type if this Task requires the user to respond with either Yes, No or N/A.)
  3. Enter a Task name.
  4. Enter a Display Order value if the Task should appear in a particular order in the Task drop down in the Task Manager.
  5. Click Save.

The message "Task was successfully added" will display upon completion.


Editing Tasks

  1. Go to Administration > Tasks > List All.
  2. Click edit next to the appropriate Task from the Task List displayed.
  3. Edit the appropriate field value(s), including type, name, display order, active/inactive and Group or Organization restrictions.
  4. Click Update.

The message "Task successfully updated" will display upon completion.


Deleting Tasks

It is strongly recommended that Tasks be “Deactivated” rather than Deleted to maintain the integrity of data in your system. Tasks can be deactivated from the Edit Task screen.

  1. Go to Administration > Tasks > List All.
  2. Click del next to the appropriate Task from the Task List displayed.
  3. Click OK when prompted, "Are you sure you want to delete this Task?"

The message "Task successfully deleted" will display upon completion.