About Priorities

Priorities are used to indicate the relative importance of an issue. Identifying priorities among issues helps determine where a particular issue figures into the larger issue queue and how soon the issue might be addressed. Auto Assignments, Email Distribution Lists, and Escalation Rules can also be triggered by the priority value selected on an issue.

Only users with Sys Admin or Can access and maintain Administration functions permissions can add, edit or delete Priorities within your system.

All users can view Priority-related data in issues and reports, but only users with Can select Priority when submitting and maintaining issues permissions can select a Priority on an issue.


 

Adding Priorities

Steps:

  1. Click the gear icon in the upper right > click Priorities beneath Issues.
  2. Click Add beneath Priorities on the right context menu.
  3. Enter a name for the new Priority.
  4. (Optional) Define the Display Order (e.g. 3 = third place) for this Priority within related lists and drop-downs.
  5. (Optional) Define the Popup Message to appear when users select this Priority on an issue.
  6. (Optional) Select the color that represents this Priority in the Open Issues by Priority Dashboard portal.
  7. Click Save.

A confirmation message will appear when this process is complete.


 

Editing Priorities

Steps:

  1. Click the gear icon in the upper right > click Priorities beneath Issues.
  2. Click the edit link next to the Priority you are modifying.
  3. (Optional) Before making any other changes on the Edit Priority screen, use the View/Maintain Distribution List link to add or change member settings on this Priorities Email Distribution List.
  4. Make your changes on the Edit Priorities screen.
  5. Click Save.

A confirmation message will appear when this process is complete.


 

Deleting Priorities

Steps:

  1. Click the gear icon in the upper right > click Priorities beneath Issues.
  2. Click del next to the Priority you are deleting.
  3. Click OK when prompted to confirm.

A confirmation message will appear when this process is complete.