About Groups

Information

Multiple users that all need to interact with your Issuetrak system, in the same way, can be defined as a Group. Groups allow you to establish and control role-based Permissions collectively without manually granting individual users the same permissions over and over.

The use of Groups is optional. However, controlling common permission sets at the group level instead of the user level makes user administration easier and more consistent. In addition, Group Restrictions allow you to control access to specific Quick Picks, Issue Types, Tasks, Knowledge Base articles, and other values based on group membership(s).

Example:

Create a Managers group with permissions to run reports, view all issues and administrative information, as well as assign issues and tasks.

Create a Technicians and CSRs group with permissions to view and submit issues for other users, create and maintain Knowledge Base articles, as well as be assigned issues and tasks.

Create a Customers group with permissions to only view and submit their own issues and access your Knowledge Base.

Users can inherit all of their permissions through group membership(s). Or, inherit additional permissions to those already applied through a template or selected in their user records.

As users are added to a group, their inherited permissions will appear in a read-only format on their user records. These permissions cannot be changed without changing the entire group’s permissions or removing the user from the group.

We strongly recommend using groups whenever possible. Controlling common permission sets at the group level instead of the user level makes user administration easier and more consistent. In addition, groups can be used to control much more than just permissions, so please see the Group section of the Help Center.


 

Group Permissions

Users can inherit all of their permissions through group membership(s). Or, inherit additional permissions to those already applied through a template or selected in their user records.

As users are added to a group, their inherited permissions will appear in a read-only format on their user records. These permissions cannot be changed without changing the entire group’s permissions or removing the user from the group.

Permission options on group records are almost identical to those on user records. However, there are additional properties that must be considered.

A group cannot log in or submit issues as if they were an individual user. But a group can:

Permission Description
Be assigned issues The individual group members may be assigned issues if they have Can be assigned issues permission.
Be assigned Next Actions The individual group members may then be assigned Next Actions;if they have Can be assigned Next Action permission.
Be assigned Tasks The individual group members may also then be assigned Tasks;if they have Can be assigned Tasks permission.
Be added to Email Distribution Lists The individual group members will then be sent notifications to the email address in their user record. Notifications will also be sent to the address in the group record if one has been defined.
Be added as Project members The individual group members will then be included in the project.

Groups are not valid for the assignment of Issues, Next Action, or Tasks without having active members added.


 

Group Restrictions

You may allow members of certain groups (or organizations) to view and select additional values not available to other users through Group Restrictions. This includes:

  • KB Articles
  • KB Categories
  • Issue Types
  • Issue SubTypes 1-4
  • Tasks
  • Task Groups
  • Quick Picks

Some examples of restrictions in practice are:

Restricting the Quick Pick New Hire to your Manager Group. Then no employee other than a member of management can view and select it on issues.

Restricting the subtype Server to your IT Group. Then no employee other than a member of IT can view and select it on issues.

Restricting the Task Group QA Analysis to your Development Group. Then no employee other than a member of development can view and select it on issues.


 

Maintaining Groups

In order for a group to work, it must contain at least one active user. Users can only be added to a group from the Edit Group screen. Groups can be added and edited by any user with the Sys Admin parameter or Can access and maintain Administration functions permission.


Adding a Group

Steps:

  1. Go to Administration > Groups > List All > Add. The Add Group screen will then appear.
  2. Select the membership type:
    • Any means that group members can be Agents or end-users with Agent permissions unavailable to use.
    • Agent Only means that the group members will be Agents and the Agent permissions are available to use.
  3. Enter a Group ID and Display Name.
    • Group ID cannot be modified once a record is saved. If no group ID is entered, a numeric group ID will be assigned by the system.
  4. (Optional) Fill in a phone, email, and SMS email values. These are for informational purposes only and have no bearing on email notifications.
    • If no system-generated email notifications should be sent to any member of this group, select Suppress All Email.
  5. Select a default Organization (required).
    • If the organization selected is marked as Internal Only, then only issues, users, and other groups within this organization will be available to members on issues and in reporting mechanisms. If this group has members outside of this Internal Only organization, then these users will be allowed to see issues pertaining to this group only.
  6. (Optional) Select a department value for the group. Any assignments made to the group will show up in reporting for the department selected. If the department selected is marked Internal Only, then only issues, users, and other groups within this department will be available to members on issues and in reports. If this group has members outside of this Internal Only department, then these users will be allowed to see issues pertaining to this group only.
  7. (Optional) Select Round Robin Assignments, if desired.
  8. Select any menu options to display to all members of this group.
  9. Select any permissions that all members of this group are to inherit. (A license must be available for each member to have any Agent permissions.)
  10. Click Save.
    • Clicking Reset will instead clear all current entries and selections.

A confirmation message will appear when this process is complete.


Editing a Group

Steps:

  1. Navigate to Administration > Groups This will open the List All Groups screen.
  2. Perform a Quick Search for the record.

Once you're on the Edit Group screen, you can perform the following changes as needed:

  1. To deactivate, unselect Active.
  2. To add or remove members, use the View/Maintain Member List link.
  3. Modify any other appropriate details and/or permissions.
  4. Click Update.
    • Clicking Reset will instead return all entries to the values defined during the most recent save/update.

You will then be returned to the List All Groups screen and the message "Group successfully updated" will appear.

As a best practice, you should always deactivate rather than delete any existing items within your system. To deactivate a group, unselect Active as described in step 1.