You may define role-based permission sets needed by more than one user, but not all users, through Groups. Existing users can then be added to any group that has permission sets they need by editing the User’s profile and going to Group Membership > add group(s) or via Administration > Groups. Users can also be removed from groups within the user’s profile.
Create a Managers group with permissions to run reports, view all issues and administrative information, as well as assign issues and tasks.
Create a Technicians and CSRs group with permissions to view and submit issues for other users, create and maintain Knowledge Base articles, as well as be assigned issues and tasks.
Create a Customers group with permissions to only view and submit their own issues and access your Knowledge Base.
Users can inherit all of their permissions through group membership(s). Or, inherit additional permissions to those already applied through a template or selected in their user records.
As users are added to a group, their inherited permissions will appear in read-only format on their user records. These permissions cannot be changed without changing the entire group’s permissions or removing the user from the group.
We strongly recommend using groups whenever possible. Controlling common permission sets at the group level instead of the user level makes user administration easier and more consistent. In addition, groups can be used to control much more than just permissions, so please see the Group section of the Help Center.